asebojungle.blogg.se

How Do You Edit Names In Rootsmagic 7
how do you edit names in rootsmagic 7














  1. How Do You Edit Names In Rootsmagic 7 Windows 7 SP1 Through#
  2. How Do You Edit Names In Rootsmagic 7 Professional Genealogist Behind#
  3. How Do You Edit Names In Rootsmagic 7 How To Generate The#

Check those who you want to add and uncheck those you wish to remove. Edit Modify the group of people using the Select People window (image on page 2 step 4). Groups are not automatically updated therefore, you can edit your group from within the Named Groups window.

How Do You Edit Names In Rootsmagic 7 Windows 7 SP1 Through

I would not be able to evaluate new sources of evidence or work that others have done on our family. Without it, I would be lost. It gives me a database for all the work I am doing. For me, genealogy software is a must when doing any kind of family history work. Windows 7 SP1 through Windows 11.

With so many different people contributing information to our families, I like to have a place where the research I have do can be preserved. I like using the Family Tree on FamilySearch, Find A Grave, WikiTree and Ancestry trees. It is also important to share our findings with others.

5) You can choose whether or not to output any alternate name tag type (or any other tag type) in report options. What do you know about RootsMagic and Legacy?If you choose to use an alternate name for an event, you must edit the event tag and choose an alternate name to be used for that event sentence. This article evaluates two of the most popular, RootsMagic and Legacy. People have varied opinions about what software is best, so I have picked two of the top software programs and compared some of the features.

I attended a Family History class at my church about 15 years ago and the couple teaching the class were Legacy users. I have been a Legacy user for longer than I can remember. I understand the need for a database of your own. If you have defined Tag Types for RootsMagic alternate names.I have been a user and fan of Legacy software. This is a breaking change. Improved name type handling see Name Types.

How Do You Edit Names In Rootsmagic 7 Professional Genealogist Behind

I even met Geoff and took a selfie with him last year. Geoff is the public face and professional genealogist behind Legacy. I have taken several classes and watched the Legacy Webinars with Geoff Rasmussen since they started. I feel I am an advanced user of Legacy.

how do you edit names in rootsmagic 7

How Do You Edit Names In Rootsmagic 7 How To Generate The

I paid for and downloaded RootsMagic almost two years ago. Because of the many different programs available BYU-I made an educated choice to have all Family History students use RootsMagic. Legacy has now been purchased by My Heritage and now I have enjoyed even better customer service and software in the future.I started attending BYU-Idaho’s Family History program. Within a few weeks they made an update and made the error much less frequent.Legacy 9 has been released and many of the issues I had seen in Legacy 8 have been resolved. He took my information and had a tech call me to get information about my system, the other programs I use and how to generate the error. Big improvements with the Legacy 9 releaseThen five months later, at RootsTech, he asked me if the error had been resolved.

He always remembers me and seems sincerely interested in me as a consumer and friend. I also see the same representative at their booth at the different conferences I have attended. Legacy seems genuinely interested in feedbackOne thing I can say about Legacy is that I feel very comfortable using it. They told me it was impossible, that the import would only transfer the information as text instead of the active database I have created for over the previous 15 years. I asked how to get my carefully crafted Legacy sources working in RootsMagic.

RootsMagic also seems very popular with conference attenders and my fellow employees. They appear very polished and well-funded compared to Legacy. However, I get different answers depending on who I talk to.

I learned that RootsMagic also has record numbers but I find the way I use the RIN (record identification number) numbers in Legacy would not be as useful or helpful as the comparable record numbers in RootsMagic. I assume that most genealogy programs have to have similar functionality because they track similar items and their users have similar needs. Related: What story will your DNA tell? Different functions of RootsMagic and LegacyI learned that RootsMagic has many of the same functions as Legacy.

They have said that the events/facts that are assigned to each person serves as a log, along with the To-Do list that has the ability to report and track research items and results of the search. Research logI also learned that RootsMagic has a built-in research log! As I have taken classes from Legacy they have downplayed the need for a research log. This is a base function of Legacy and a key to finding the sources and evidence I have gathered. I admit that I am not as familiar with RootsMagic as I am Legacy. This functionally may be available in RootsMagic but I cannot find it. For example, RichardTrotter-birth-RIN11.jpgI can find people in Legacy by RIN number more easily than I can by their name.

The tutorials from RootsMagic, like Legacy, suggest that you also use the To-Do list in conjunction with the research log. Each item has a date and reference number as-well-as the ability to state what you are trying to find, what source you checked, where you checked, and the results of your search. You also define the objective of the log and can add separate items to the log. You can name the log, assign it in general or to a family, person, event, or place. I admit I do not use the functionality of the To-Do list as much as I feel I would a research log.RootsMagic has a research log accessible throughout the program.

Software like RootsMagic or Legacy can help organize your family tree so it doesn’t look like this. Knowing what I know now, this functionality alone may have sold me on using RootsMagic. This resolves so many questions I have had about incorporating a research log with my database. I LOVE the fact that from each To-Do task you can click a button and transfer the task to the research log.

However, Legacy allows me to not only create the source but also to add it to the source clipboard. They have some subtle differences but both do a good job creating the information. Much of the way sources are created is the same between Legacy and RootsMagic.

how do you edit names in rootsmagic 7

This makes weighing and evaluating your research harder. In Legacy, each detail can be sourced but in RootsMagic, all the details are treated as one and sources are applied to all details as a whole. An individual’s record is made up of many details names, dates, locations, evidence/facts. If you are confused about where to look for records you can pull up a residence location and see how many documents point to each location.This is different from RootsMagic in that attached sources are for events/facts in general, not for each fact.

That said, the glitches I see in Legacy have been decreasing and with the MyHeritage partnership look to continue to improve. I believe the ability to source small details truly helps my research more. If I did not have 11,000 plus sourced names entered in Legacy I might have switched. What are the obstacles with the programs?RootsMagic is this truly is a great tool for beginner and intermediate users. It will be exciting to see what new improvements will come about with the version.

An iPhone (RootsMagic) is easy to use, preferred by the masses and presented it a polished package. For me, the differences between the two programs can be likened the differences between an iPhone and Android phone.

how do you edit names in rootsmagic 7